Graal Forums  

Go Back   Graal Forums > Development Forums > NPC Scripting > Code Gallery
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 09-01-2012, 10:32 PM
ǝɔɐɹq ʎןɹnɔ
Crow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond reputeCrow has a reputation beyond repute
Function: WallIntersect

Note: This function name is terrible. I'm not good at this.
WallIntersect(x1, y1, x2, y2)

What is this? Simple! I believe it was Dusty who was requesting this before: a function to check for walls on a line. This is a GS2 implemenation, obviously, so not as complex.

What does it do? It takes the coordinates for two points and checks for walls on a (dotted) line between them. One regular onwall() check about every tile length and a guaranteed check on the destination coordinate (that's the second one!). It also does what has been requested of this feature and (kinda) returns where it hit a wall. It will, however, not continue to check along the line for more walls once it encounters one.

How does it work? You feed it the two points and it will return an array in this format:
PHP Code:
boolean hitWallint stepsBeforeWallint totalStepsfloat angle 
  • hitWall is true if it hit a wall at some point, otherwise false
  • stepsBeforeWall is the number of checks it did before it hit a wall; when hitWall is false, this is equal to totalSteps
  • totalSteps is the amount of checks it has or would have done
  • angle is the computed angle using the two coordinates and getangle(); so you don't have to calculate that again, heh~